Irrelevant Thoughts and Other Things
Come with an open mind, 'cause it's going to get pretty weird up in here.

Problems in Disney Shows


Now, I know it may sound immature and whatever but I have some serious things to say about the shows on Disney Channel.  Of course I actually sometimes find myself switching to their shows every once and a while because, honestly, I am not the kind of person that watches Jersey Shore or Degrassi and when Cake Boss, Say Yes to the Dress, The Big Bang Theory, NCIS (the original, no LA versions for me), Castle, Friends reruns or That 70’s Show reruns aren’t on I do flip through the kid channels.  And I admit that I do have a favorite show on Disney and that I watch it sometimes and actually quite like some of the characters.  I was in tears when The Suite Life on Deck ended, same with Hannah Montana (even though that show was really lame, it was a goldmine of jokes).  However, over the years I have made up a sizable list of things that I find wrong in Disney shows.

1) There was no purpose for the read headed chick on That’s So Raven.  Let’s face it, that girl was only there so that there was some diversity on the set.  Chelsea was the sidekick of Raven and while I am all for diversity (and I thought she was a great character) the chick was white, and for a reason.

2) On the newer show “Good Luck Charlie” there are no Mexicans.  Don’t take it the wrong way, because I swear that there is a point to what I am saying.  The show is supposed to take place in Colorado, though I have no idea of the exact town in the state.  Anyone who has been to that state knows for a fact that the Latino population is much larger than the black population.  Yet on the show there are zero Latinos and like two black characters.  I just don’t get it.

3) On the entire channel there are no gay characters.  Now I get it.  Disney actually is very pro-gay and stuff but there is an unhealthy lack of gayness.  It’s understood, okay, they are afraid of what people would say and how many views that they would loose and stuff like that.  There is a reason that Teletubbies is off the air (for those of you that don’t know the purple one with the triangle above it’s head and the red purse was just too different to be appropriate for small children) however I know for a fact that I quite liked that show as a kid and that if I had more shows with possibly gay characters throughout my life I would have realized that (a) I was gay and (b) that it was okay a whole of a lot faster.  Let’s face it the incredibly hetero shows that kids watch don’t help the LGBT youth cause.

4) Going back to old school Disney (meaning the shows I watched as a child) I don’t think I ever learned the ending of many shows.  Lizzie McGuire, which was, let’s face it, really fun to watch in all the movies and the shows and I guess I will never know the end.  Kim Possible, possibly the best cartoon ever, unless you count The Powerpuff Girls, is another show that I just didn’t ever learn the end of.  Did she end up with Ron Stoppable?  Cause if that girl didn’t…  That and Phil of the Future, The Emperor’s New School and Cory in the House.

5) The shows are getting worse.  Or I am getting older.  Either way.  It’s just getting stupid.  Some of the shows are interesting these days but it’s not looking good.  With shows like Jessie, Dog with a Blog and Gravity Falls I just don’t know what to do.  It would seem that ever since Wizards of Waverly Place ended it’s all gone downhill.  It would seem that the only show I can really stand these days is Austin and Ally, because it has over the top characters, and it kind of sucks too but it makes for great sleepovers.

I guess my message is that Disney needs to get better shows now.  Ones with gay characters.

No Responses to “Problems in Disney Shows”

Leave a comment