Irrelevant Thoughts and Other Things
Come with an open mind, 'cause it's going to get pretty weird up in here.

The LGBT Acronym


As part of the gay community I can honestly say that I do understand both sides of the acronym problems.  I mean, the order isn’t clear, it isn’t inclusive enough, it’s recognizable and therefore shouldn’t be changed, it’s GLBT, asexuality is a lack of sexual orientation (total BS, but whatever) so shouldn’t be included, making it longer will confuse people, keeping it as is hurts the community by not being inclusive.  However, when you think about it all I can say is that I really think it is pretty simple.  LGBT (or GLBT) is the most commonly known acronym.  It is what we all know, we all know that it stands for Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, Transgender.  Which is easy.  And then there are people out there that throw in their own little letters for fun.  Intersex.  Pansexual.  Two-Spirited.  Questioning. Ally.  All I can say is “Why?”  In my opinion we could make it a lot easier.

Let’s just make it QT.  Queer and Transgender.  Both are umbrella terms so it would be incredibly inclusive.  And it’s like an insta-adorable.  That solves it, guys.  That’s all I can say on the matter for now.  This was pretty short, sorry.

No Responses to “The LGBT Acronym”

Leave a comment