Irrelevant Thoughts and Other Things
Come with an open mind, 'cause it's going to get pretty weird up in here.

RANT: Why I Read


So, I have been neglecting my life because I have found three great books.  OK, four awesome books.  No, it was actually five superb books.  But thanks to this I have been forgetting to put down the book and blog.  I have missed two of my SONG OF THE DAY posts on AKA: Real Music and one daily post on Candy and Complaints.  So I have to make up for that one on C+C but I can’t make up for it on AKA: RM so I’m just gonna have to live.  And anyways this is not the topic for today so I don’t know why I am still talking about it.

My topic today is actually reading, which I do way too much of.  I am a reading addict.  And it shows.  When I glance around my room I see only one place that is even the slightest bit organized, the three cubbies of my bookshelf where I keep the books I LOVE or even HATE.  I can see that I have room to put a few more books behind the Twilight Saga.  And that I will have to move the Witch and Wizard Series, Divergent and Stake That! when I get the last three Vampire Diaries.  I can see the place where I have made space for Divergent and Insurgent (when I get it).  I can see the place where I plan to put two more books by the end of this week.  I can see the place where Matched (my most recent read) is eagerly awaiting the rest of it’s trilogy to join it.  I can see the place where I have added Touch the Dark and Bloodlines to a cubby.  Most of all I can see that I have spent hours in total arranging these books so they are in the right order for the next time that I want to read the series.  I can also see that I desperately am in need of a bigger shelf.  But most importantly, I can see a pattern in the books I read.

The pattern isn’t in the covers, the titles or even the fonts.  The pattern is in the very story, the plot, the theme.  Even as my eyes just dance across the spines of my collection I am tempted to rearrange the books so that the books that go together (not in series but in theme) are next to eachother.  I am tempted to run out to get a book I have already read at a library so that I can feel more complete, and if I did that I would need the second in that series…

The pattern is simple.  Divergent: set in the future,  with a controlling government.  Matched: set in the future, with a controlling government, people are paired together by the government.  Hunger Games: set in the future, with a controlling government.  Delirium: set in the future, with a controlling government that dictates people’s lives.  Witch and Wizard: future setting, a government is taking over and becoming increasingly dictating.  It’s easy to see…

Anyway, it’s at that point where I pick up a book, normally fallowing this pattern, and I get ten pages into it but already know the end.  A few will sneak up on me and surprise me.  But even those have a second book or a third, and by the end it’s already what I expected.  Maybe it’s that I read too much.  Or not enough.  I’d like to think the latter.  But even when I read outside the pattern, into thrillers and mysteries, I still see the end coming long before it does; even when it’s not the end I want I still can see it coming.  But while that may make reading boring for most I will never get bored.

No matter how similar all the plots, not to mention predicted, I will still sit on the edge of my seat.  No matter how alike the characters are I fall in love with every new one.  And what’s more is that I love reading for the feelings you get when you read.

Like how every teenage girl that read Twilight fell in love with Edward (or Jacob), I will always fall for the leading lad.  Alex from Delirium.  Four from Divergent.  Peeta from Hunger Games.  Ky from Matched.  Stefan and Damian from Vampire Diaries.  Jareth from Blood Coven.  Ben from Unraveling.  Jacob (and for that matter Mac) from Postcard Killers.  Romeo from Romeo and Juliet.  Even Dimitri from Vampire Academy (I hate him but love him).  Tomas and Mircea from Touch the Dark.  Sam from Shiver.  Derek and Lucas from Born at Midnight.  Heath, Damien and Erik from the House of Night novels.  Damen from the Immortals.  Landon from A Walk to Remember.  Will from Last Song.  And that is just a few.

Of course there are more emotions then love when you read.  The adrenaline of a thriller.  The fear of a horror.  The suspense of a mystery.  The happiness of a fairy-tale.  The helplessness of nearly every story.  All the emotions that you can feel when you read.  That’s why it is so addictive to me.

Even still I don’t think I planned on writing about this…  Oh, well.  Hm.  Maybe it told you some good books or gave you inspiration to read?

No Responses to “RANT: Why I Read”

Leave a comment