Irrelevant Thoughts and Other Things
Come with an open mind, 'cause it's going to get pretty weird up in here.

10 Ups to Blogging


While I am writing this on the 22nd I have a feeling that it wont be a while until it gets up…  Anyway…  Today’s post is about the ups of blogging.  Some are things that maybe I have only noticed (doubt it) but most are just random…

1. It improves your typing abilities 10 fold.  I mean, before I started blogging I could type pretty well, at a decent pace and with minor spelling errors due to typing but I had to look at the key board.  And now I can type at a crazy fast pace, I rarely mistype unless I am typing in a awkward position and I like never have to look at the keyboard, NEVER EVER.  I have some tips so that blogging can improve your typing:

  • blog once a day
  • while blogging listen to fast paced music and type to the beat
  • try and count how many spelling errors you make solely because of typing

2. You get to work on your writing skills.  If you are looking for that way to work on your tone of writing or you are simply wanting to work on your grammar and spelling blogging lets you do it.  If you just write in Word then it will get boring.  To work on tone through blogging I have some tips and tricks:

  • try and use a new topic in every blog
  • you could always try and make every blog sound different (I’ve done entire blogs that are informative and have that really boring tone and I have full blogs that sound like I am trying to sell a product to the reader)
  • pick a topic and write about it in a way–informative, story, etc.–but then make the TONE of it differ from what you would expect (you could do an informative piece with lots of boring details but write it like it is the most important and juicy information the reader will ever learn about)
  • get into a role while you write

3. It MAKES you learn about things.  Yes, if you blog you learn.  To write lots of my posts I have to go and actually learn the facts.  I didn’t write the history of Maroon 5 without learning about Maroon 5.  I have a music blog (AKA: Real Music) where every day I have to learn facts on a song so that I can write on it.  I had to learn about acronyms at one point so that I could make a post on that.  I have learnt so many things (even accents) due to blogging.

4. It helps you get creative and use ideas that you normally wouldn’t.  What kind of blogger doesn’t experience something and then go “Now that would make a great post,”?  Most likely they all do that…  So it really gets you to use ideas that you wouldn’t have.

5. It gives you something to do when bored.  This is pretty obvious but when you’re bored you can always blog.

6. Blogging makes you become really comfortable and knowledgeable of a computer.  This is TRUE!  After all, if you blog everyday then you are spending at least 10 minutes on the computer every day.  And 10 minutes is like a minimum.  I normally spend about 9 hours with my computer each day.  Really, my laptop has become my best friend.  I spend more time with it than my family.  Even if I am only blogging for a fraction of that time I am still always with my laptop because I am so used to being with it, I am so comfortable with it, I know how to do things with it and really I just love it.

7. Connection comes with blogging.  You will meet people through blogging that you wouldn’t have met without it.  You will read blogs and learn about things.  You will get in touch with other bloggers.

8. Gives you an excuse as to why you carry your laptop with you EVERY WHERE!  What?  Do you guys not do that?  ‘Cause I do…

9. It’s a hobby and can turn into a career (if your good).  So it really is fun and there are plenty of people who make a career out of it.

10. It’s a great way to just do something.

There you go.  10 ups to blogging.  BAM!  OK.  Some of them sucked but you gotta realize half this list was written at midnight!  Yeah…

No Responses to “10 Ups to Blogging”

Leave a comment